WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Feedback needed on potential business idea

I am new to SuN and am part of a start-up product development company.  This post is unrelated to my product development company.
I saw an telecommunications commercial where there is a guy in Africa giving shoes away - because his footwear company has chosen to donate a pair of shoes for every one they sell.  So an idea for a new business came to me - and it could start small / local.  The mission of the consulting company would be to use / leverage charitable, brand-related programs to address business issues and increase consumer perception of  brands and support the civic integrity of client companies. 

The array of what I would call "humanitary" or "charitable" initiatives is almost endless.  So developing the expertise around what charitable / humanitary resources are available in the community would be the first step I think.  I think this could be a very valuable expertise.  Many companies have these initiatives already in place, but I`m sure they could be improved or more brand-relevant.     

I`ve always had a desire to do non-prof work, but I`m also very entrepreneurial and like to make money.  So this could almost be a happy medium for me.

Keep in mind this thought came to me about 2 days ago - the very day my company downsized significantly and I lost my job.  So I haven`t had a change to put much energy into this thought as I`ve been job searching.  What you all think!?   

Comments

• michaelweaver4michaelweaver4 subscriber Posts: 1
    Apologies for the vagueness of my initial post and for the length of this post.  I`ll tell you a bit about my background real quick.