Feedback needed on potential business idea

I am new to SuN and am part of a start-up product development company.  This post is unrelated to my product development company.
I saw an telecommunications commercial where there is a guy in Africa giving shoes away - because his footwear company has chosen to donate a pair of shoes for every one they sell.  So an idea for a new business came to me - and it could start small / local.  The mission of the consulting company would be to use / leverage charitable, brand-related programs to address business issues and increase consumer perception of  brands and support the civic integrity of client companies. 

The array of what I would call "humanitary" or "charitable" initiatives is almost endless.  So developing the expertise around what charitable / humanitary resources are available in the community would be the first step I think.  I think this could be a very valuable expertise.  Many companies have these initiatives already in place, but I`m sure they could be improved or more brand-relevant.     

I`ve always had a desire to do non-prof work, but I`m also very entrepreneurial and like to make money.  So this could almost be a happy medium for me.

Keep in mind this thought came to me about 2 days ago - the very day my company downsized significantly and I lost my job.  So I haven`t had a change to put much energy into this thought as I`ve been job searching.  What you all think!?   

Comments

• michaelweaver4michaelweaver4 subscriber Posts: 1
    Apologies for the vagueness of my initial post and for the length of this post.  I`ll tell you a bit about my background real quick.