WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Marketing Idea -- Feedback Requested

DesignCaddyDesignCaddy subscriber Posts: 3
edited August 2006 in Marketing
Hello
I am very new to marketing and have an idea, but am not quite sure how to implement it.
Our business sells hosting services, domain names, etc.  I recently noticed a domain name that is related to US history, business history, and the history of innovation.  Nobody has registered this domain and I was suprised.
I was considering offering it up for free on my blog (I have enough domains that I have reserved for future use.. and will probably never get to... and I would love to give this to a visitor to my site).
What is the best way to create a "buzz" around something like this? 
There is a potential downside.... I`m kind of an abstract guy and it is entirely possible that what I see as a cool name for a domain or business might not be so cool to other people.  The last thing that I want to do is build up a buzz and then have a letdown.
I am curious to hear the thoughts of others on the board.
thanks
MikeDesignCaddy.Net

Comments

• Options
    theswaynestertheswaynester subscriber Posts: 15 Bronze Level Member
    I wouldn`t worry too much about the letdown.Marketing, to me, is neither art or science... it`s a mixture of both. These things have a mind of their own.I`d just throw it up the flag pole and see who salutes. Perhaps fashion it as some sort of a contest?Just one possibility.
    The Swaynester
  • Options
    EricEric subscriber Posts: 8
    Mike,