WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Stay in College, or Drop-out?

Liam177Liam177 subscriber Posts: 2
edited September 2016 in Marketing
Hi,

I'm currently in my first year of college and find no value in it. I don't mind the social aspect of it, but the education aspect is not very useful. I feel like I'm wasting my time and money. I've started small companies and initiatives in the past and am very entrepreneurial. I want to take a leave of absence next semester to join a great startup. Here I would learn a lot, get connected with great people, and be more exposed to ideas.

I'd love to hear people's thoughts on my situation. Thanks!

-Liam

Comments

• edwardmasonedwardmason subscriber Posts: 0 Member
    Hello Liam! May I ask what degree are you taking up? Well, a lot of successful businessmen dropped out of college BUT I am not that quite convince that its a good idea for you to do the same thing. Yes, it is all about skills in handling business into higher grounds but it would be senseless if you knew nothing or a little about the INs & OUTs in the industry. Why not become a student and a business man at the same time? Its still different to be a degree holder.
  • CastingDirectorCastingDirector subscriber Posts: 1
    Hi There -

My name is Stephanie and I'm a Casting Director in NYC. I'm currently casting for a new development project about future entrepreneurs who are planning to drop out of school to pursue their million dollar business idea.