WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Get work on Upwork? Worth it? Tips and Tricks?

simpletechITsimpletechIT subscriber Posts: 3 Member
Let me break the ice, is Upwork even worth it? I just joined. I am a Network Consultant and my company SimpleTech (simpletech.us), provides I.T Services. I joined with the intention of getting hourly work and trying converting them to monthly reoccurring customer. My profile is pretty solid and I have found some interesting gigs. However I noticed a couple things.

-You have to be rated 90% or better, which how can you be when your new?
-Alot of proposals. 10-50 per gig and even if the gig is $15.
-Jobs seem more like jobs and not gigs.

I want to put more time and energy into Upwork, but I'm not sure its worth it? Opinion?

Thanks

Comments

• Ryan O'BlenessRyan O'Bleness administrator Posts: 1,137 Site Admin
    edited November 2017
    @simpletechIT, have you looked into alternative freelancing sites such as Fiverr, Toptal, Freelancer or Guru? 

Upwork has kind of taken over the space, but my advice would be to put your profile on these other sites, take a few gigs on each and then compare and contrast the websites to see which one is best for you. 
    Ryan O'Bleness
    Community Manager
    StartupNation, LLC
  • Debvie MedinaDebvie Medina subscriber Posts: 10 Member
    About Upwork: ​Upwork is the world’s largest freelance talent marketplace. As an increasingly connected
    and independent workforce goes online, knowledge work—like software before it— is shifting online as
    well. This shift is making it faster and easier for clients to connect and work with talent in near real­time and
    freeing professionals everywhere from working at a set time and place. Freelancers are earning more than