WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Passion vs good idea???

Oil change guyzOil change guyz subscriber Posts: 4
edited December 2016 in Selecting a Business
Hi my name is Shane.

I'm currently 22 and a diesel mechanic. I've been kicking around idea for past 2 years about starting a new business in town that's unique to my location.

Mobile oil change. No real competition couple dealers around and Walmart that's it no quick lubes like jiffy lube etc.

My concern is I'm not real passionate bout doing oil changes though I believe there's a market for it in my area!! like I wouldn't do oil changes for FUN haha so what's your opinions on opening business that isn't all that fun too do , do you think if I made good money it make it lot easier and more funnn. I compare it to construction or anything it ain't the funniest but if money there you would be happy doing it...??

Any suggestions or help would be extremely appreciated!!! :D

Comments

• anushkachhakrabartianushkachhakrabarti subscriber Posts: 219 Silver Level Member
    Research shows that "follow your passion" is often bad advice. The idea is that the key to finding a great career is to identify your greatest about are likely to be the most competitive, which makes it harder to find a good job. Passion vs jobs.
  • ankit007ankit007 subscriber Posts: 238 Silver Level Member