WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

How do I resolve a debilitating conflict/disagreement in my wife and I's business?

kzunkzun subscriber Posts: 1 Member
Hello,

[My apologies that this is a fairly lengthy post; I am in desperate need of advice.]

This is my first post and I have skimmed the forum here and will definitely be spending quite a bit of time on here, as I am a fairly new business owner who got bit hard by the entrepreneurial bug and want to be self-employed for the rest of my life. 

The Situation
My wife and I are both web developers. I am a backend developer and she a frontend developer. There is a good synergy between us, with complimentary skills. We decided to go into business together and have now been self-employed and have worked from home for the past 3 years.

Our business is going well. We have a handful of good clients and, as to be expected, some shifts happen so it's not 100% consistent, but our daily workload is about 3-4 hours a day each, 4 days a week, give or take, depending on flux and whether some contracts are relatively large and ongoing, or if we get, say, a restaurant client or something that is one-and-done in a single month. Depending on the flux, we usually hit anywhere between $6-11k a month or so.

We charge $60-$100 / hour for our work (some clients are legacy from when we first started out and we charge them the same rate they started with).

The fundamental difference between my wife and I is our perspective on hiring contractors to do the work so we can start expanding.

My Perspective