WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Experience Needed to run a business?

nothinglikeitnothinglikeit subscriber Posts: 27
edited January 2007 in Office Workers
Hello,

I`m a college kid taking a break from school for financial reasons. I`m starting a multimedia company. I`m torn between trying to find a job in the industry and learning the ropes first or just going for it on my own. I know that my ultimate goal is to own my own game studio, the only problem with most game studios are that they want to own your ideas outright while you work for them. So my question is this:

Is it better to gain some experience in the industry first? I have been reading and learning on my own but I have no industry experience.

Do I realistically have any chance of starting a business without working for someone else in the same industry first?

Comments

• MNGrillGuyMNGrillGuy subscriber Posts: 2 Member
    Game design?  If so, then no, you have no chance.  But, don`t get discouraged.  Life is long, get some experience, then give it a shot.  You have youth on your side. 
    You`ll need mucho casho to pay for all those designers before ever putting out a game.  Nobody will give you cash for the start-up unless you are a proven game designer.  Can you start out small in that industry?  Probably not.  I suppose one could try develop games to be played on the iPhone.  That would also be expensive.
  • nothinglikeitnothinglikeit subscriber Posts: 27