WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Website marketing , what should I pay for and not pay for

LyfeExperienceLyfeExperience subscriber Posts: 6
I have a social networking/support website.  When it comes to marketing I have very little experience, only what I have read and no programming skills.   I was wondering if someone could let me know if I`m on the right track or not, heres my plan in a nutshell:
Write online articles, post in blogs, get articles in magazines/newspaper, word of mouth, postcards in different places where my users would hang out, ppc, and I would rather not do SEO because I don`t have a lot of money to do it and what I `ve read its better to get it organically, but let me know if I am wrong.
Thanks!
Mike

Comments

• NuevolutionNuevolution subscriber Posts: 30 Bronze Level Member
    Mike,
    I would suggest you hire someone to help you with your Marketing Project.
    Although, there are some things you can do on your own. You eventually have to hire a professional to help you with marketing.
    SEO is the first thing to consider if you want to make it into the organic searches. I wouldn`t advise PPC (Pay Per Click) if you say you don`t have alot of money to market your web site.
    I would suggest Email Marketing to all your friends, I would distribute flyers and business cards everywhere
  • LyfeExperienceLyfeExperience subscriber Posts: 6
    Thanks, I think your right.  But doesn`t it seem kind of wrong to actually go to other communities and tell people to come to mine.  Would love to hear your thoughts, thanks
  • NuevolutionNuevolution subscriber Posts: 30 Bronze Level Member