WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

I Know How to Develop Software, But...

NathanBradyNathanBrady subscriber Posts: 1
edited December 2015 in Selecting a Business
Hello all,
I've been developing software professionally for nearly 20 years now. All of that experience has been in the custom software realm: being paid to take someone's idea, help them work out the details, such as functionality, technologies, preparation for growth and monetization. It's actually been pretty awesome, as I've delved into many industries and processes.

I'm considering striking out on my own after doing this for others for so long. I've had some ideas here and there, but have yet to pull the trigger because I know to be successful, it has to be marketed. Zillions of developers out there fall victim to the "build it and they will come" mentality, even with ingenious ideas. I don't want to be one of them.

It should be noted that what I've been doing is not just coding, which is most of what you'll see when you Google "software development". It's a fairly common misconception outside of the biz. The key to building a software product has nothing to do with the actual programming, it's working out the product and the details before any coding is done at all. It's actually a relatively rare skill, and I've been fortunate enough to have the chance to develop it.

At any rate, I'm hoping to start some conversations about possible connections and finding a great idea to turn into reality. To be clear: I'm not looking to be hired, but to help take an idea and run with it.

Best regards,
Nathan

Comments

• Options
    BigPaperBigPaper subscriber Posts: 1