WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

starting a shoe line or clothing line

dayDreamerdayDreamer subscriber Posts: 40 Bronze Level Member
edited April 2016 in Business Planning
I would like to know if someone could give me some advice on how to get a clothing line or shoe line started. My sister and I would like to start a shoe line to honor our mother, but we don`t know how to get started.  Can someone tell me the steps I need to take in order to make my dream a reality?  I would really appreciate good advice and expertise.

Comments

• Options
    MrsB73MrsB73 subscriber Posts: 2
    Hi!
    I am a beginner, so I don`t have much information to share with you.  But one of the first things I did when I realized I wanted to open my own party store was go and visit party stores just outside of my town (I figured they would be more willing to talk to me if they knew I wasn`t a competitor) and asked them how they got started and if they had any advice.
    Out of the three people I spoke with, two of them were extremely helpful, friendly and honest.  One of them was rude, unfriendly and very bitter.  But, I left knowing that I wouldn`t let what she said get to me.
    My point is, go visit some shoe stores!  Preferrably, ones you wouldn`t be in competition with - they will probably be more likely to talk to you.
    Best of luck, I think it`s a great idea!
  • Options
    DivashoozsDivashoozs subscriber Posts: 0