WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Sharing Ideas and Techniques

williamwilliam subscriber Posts: 2
edited May 2007 in Marketing
I have to admit I absolutely hate cold calling and drop-in sales techniques.  I am a technician by blood and trade and just have an issue just walking in and introducing myself and services.It would be great if true "road tested warriors" would share their ideas and war stories on how they succeed or got over the initial discomforts of related type sales.Your input is a great value not just to me, but I am certain to other new entrepreneurs and the like.
William2007-4-19 12:7:27

Comments

• InactiveMemberInactiveMember subscriber Posts: 12
    I believe that some people are made for sales and other people are not. This doesn`t mean that learning to love sales is impossible.
    Selling really requires the right personality. Some people just love sales; it`s thrilling for them. If you don`t like sales, use perspective ... Ever seen that "Worst, Dirtiest Jobs" show? Tell yourself "sales isn`t as bad as..." and make a list. Cause it`s not really as bad as say, cleaning septic tanks.
    Perspective is a great tool for many things.
  • williamwilliam subscriber Posts: 2
    My business is mostly by passive advertising, word-of-mouth, seo, and ppc.  The sales opportunities I`ve done were all unsuccessful.  When a qualified customer comes to me the relationship is wonderful and successful.The cold calling and surprise drop in is fruitless and I have a fear, squeamish, and no confidence.  Being in computer services is also difficult as most customers will only contact me if there is a problem.I enjoy the jobs show.  I can relate to what you`re saying.
  • InactiveMemberInactiveMember subscriber Posts: 12