WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Small Business Public Relations

PRProPRPro subscriber Posts: 25
edited April 2006 in Public Relations
 Hi Everyone! I am a small business owner too and help StartupNation with their public relations. We realize entrepreneurs need help with their publicity efforts so we`ll be adding more information and assistance with this on the website soon.
In the meantime, checkout the various articles on publicity throughout the site. It`s really important to come up with a story angle that the media will be interested in and to pursue the right media contacts -- rather than just sending a press release out to hundreds of names. It`s a lot more work---but worth the effort!  Have a great day, and don`t be afraid to go for your small business dreams!

Comments

• VickiJVickiJ subscriber Posts: 6
    I agree wholeheartedly! When I`m working as an editor and I get a news release with my name on it (spelled correctly), I take the info much more seriously than if the name on the envelope is someone who worked there two years ago - or 10 years ago. (Yes, really!) I`m a patient person, but if someone doesn`t care enough to get the name right I probably won`t care much either. If you don`t know the right person to send it to, call and ask the person who answers the phone. If you can`t find the right person, at least get the name of someone in the newsroom (it it`s a newspaper). He/she will likely pass it along to the right person if they think it`s worth a story.
  • patchpatch subscriber Posts: 0
    As an editor for the past thousand years, I know how difficult it is for PR people to get the desired reaction from people like myself. Trash cans are always the handiest places to deposit handouts.