WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Have Some Questions About Setting Up An LLC

VesoneVesone subscriber Posts: 2
edited September 2009 in Business Planning
Hey everybody,
This is my first time in the forum, love all of the information I've found on this website. I had a few questions about setting up an LLC for anybody who's done it before.
I'm starting a company based around educating entrepreneurs on setting up functional monetized websites with unorthodox tools like wordpress. Easy to manage and attractive to their audience.
I'm going to run this from home through my own website, membership/fixed continuity program and drive traffic with social media/attraction marketing. I have all of that stuff set but I was doing some research on what I could call my business and I ran into the different types of business structures you can have.
I was going to run as a sole proprietor and just register a DBA so I can call my business something other than my name but I've found alot of information on how registering an LLC is absolutely the way to go for any business because of the benefits and the separate liability.
There are a lot of companies on the internet that will do this 'for a fee' and set everything up for you, one of the most popular that I've found was Legalzoom. I've found horrible reviews but I've also found really good reviews.
I have to be honest I don't have a lot of start up capital with this being an internet based business but I'd rather wait and talk to a lawyer than pay for a template a company is going to give me.