WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

New business idea...what do you think?

saysumsaysum subscriber Posts: 1
Hello, this is my first time posting...so take it easy...
I have always been in this business but want to take it to another level and wanted your opinion.
I am involved in wholesale distribution of Orchid Leis.  These are the big beautiful leis you may see around people`s necks during graduation ceremonies (at least thats the new trend out here on the west coast).  The company that I am involved in distributes it to flower wholesalers, Costco, and other florists.  These people are the middle men who jack up the prices by 200-400% by the time they get to the people.  For instance, I may be able to get the leis for $12-15 (depending on the volume) and they turn around and sell it to people for $35-60 each. 
My idea was to cut out the middle men and target high schools and colleges as a fund raiser or money making opportunities for worthy students (kids who needs extra money for school).  I would sell them the leis for $15 and they can sell it for at least $30.  If at a public H.S. they graduate 500-750 students and 1/4of them buy the leis, there is a potential of at least $2000-3000 profit in a few short hours!  This number is on the conservative side.  My experience is that once a parent/family member/friend sees another graduate with the lei, they would want the same for their own.  It becomes a chain reaction.