WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Business name

JoanJoan subscriber Posts: 2
edited November 2006 in Business Planning
I am fairly new to SUN. I have posted once before. I am stuck on naming my business.  Briefly: It`s a baking business (cookies) that is not brick and mortar. I will be baking and selling to local stores, bed and breakfasts and online. I would like to choose a name that carries over to the web. I know how to do a url search (which I`ve done). I am more concerned with down the road if it got bigger. I know that lrg corporations can stop you if you do anything that resembles what they do. I took a food business startup class and found out you can be bitten down the road. (ie; if my last name was "Fields" or "Mcdonald"). In the class they spoke of a woman who started an organic dog food business and got quite far with it. She got the food onto shelves, etc. Her packaging had a cute little dog with a red and white checked scarf on. Five years into her successful business she got a nice little letter from Purina`s lawyers....end of business. Do I hire a patent attorney? How do I protect myself and cover my tracks? I`ve got a name that checks out as unused in my state and on the web. What is my next step? Thanks so muchJoan2006-11-16 17:37:18

Comments

• JoanJoan subscriber Posts: 2