WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

looking for advice on process for database driven website

theducktheduck subscriber Posts: 1
Hello all
this is my first time on this site and the forum.  Found some quite useful posts while searching the forums but none that answer my specific questions.  So ...I`m about to start building a website which  will make me millions!!  ...yeah right!!  No the reality is I want to build a membership website, that is database driven.  The members will input data which will will then be available to other members, but will also allow space for future development of the site.  Obviously in an ideal world the end product won`t require me to be inputting the data myself.I`m  hoping someone can point me in the right direction.  I have downloaded and installed Joomla and MAMP (still working out how to utilise both of these).  I use a MAC BOOK 10.5.  Experience wise I`m a novice, use to WYSIWYG programs and am a keen learner.I`m not really sure where to start:Do I need a separate website program as well as a database program? how do I get the webpage to interact with the database ?  Do I develop the Database totally separate to the website and then try and integrate them?A site I use and like the feel of is couchsurfing.com I`d like to be able in the long term to build a site which works as well as this.I`m on a limited income so am trying to keep this project to Open source if possible. I guess that`s it, any advice, pointers to other posts (which I`ve missed) or links will be gratefully received. Thanks  D

Comments

• vwebworldvwebworld subscriber Posts: 40