WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Website Effectiveness Critique needed

deblyncdeblync subscriber Posts: 1
edited October 2007 in Website Critique
Hello, everyone...I am a newbie to "SUN", and I think this thread is truly wonderful!    So...I am going to try and take full advantage of using it...it is not often when you can get truthful feedback about your "baby" or "pet project", (especially from friends or family) and, in this case, a project that I hope will not only become my primary source of income, but, eventually provide enough income for me to also help produce seed money for an adjunct business.  Now, on to the desired critique.
My website is Working Girl Gems, and the address is www.workinggirlgems.com</A> .  I also have utilized Hyperstreet`s webhosting as well as their website builder feature.  However, since my background is pretty extensive in computers and networking, I also utilize an FTP site to make necessary corrections and changes that I feel Hyperstreet`s program is remiss in, primarily the SEO side of this equation.  (Some of the ability to upload files is cumbersome also and I am very comfortable with FTP, so, I use it.)
What I really wish to have critiqued is the following:

How effective is the template design I have chosen for the business that I am in? (Artisan jewelry) I have not yet changed the primary logo (the lady that appears on all pages, and intend to when I am able to do so, so that I can more accurately reflect the industry.  Is this the kind of site that someone will feel comfortable buying Artisan jewelry from?  Should I utilize a more simplified, ecommerce "siteish" one-page type of website design, versus the one that I have now?