WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Need Advice: Should I bail?

optimusprimeoptimusprime subscriber Posts: 1
edited July 2007 in Thought Leadership
Hello,I would like to ask other entrepreneurs for advice on a delicate situation. This is kinda long and all over the place.... I am a Web Developer and beginning of the year I joined an internet startup as employee number #4 to do their web application development. I responded to a job ad of theirs on craigslist and met with one of the founders the next day. They have a very compelling product / service, which was the main reason I joined them. I am always out looking to work on new exciting projects and technology.Anyways, the current team is made up of the 2 founders, both business guys (MBAs from ivy league), and 2 developers (including me). We developers are "only" employees with salaries at 50-60% of typical market rates (no benefits) and in the beginning we received 1% each in stock options. We both will receive full salaries once the company gets funded (series A) The 2 founders don`t pay themselves. However one of them is still full time employed at a large corporation and is still waiting for his green card to come through. Until then he is bound to his current employer due to Hb1 work visa. So he can only work on this after hours and remotely.In the past 6 months we build basically a prototype that allows the founders to go out and seek funding (significantly more angel funding or series A). In 2 months we will have beta release ready for public launch.Beginning of the year, they received $100k angel money from a rich family friend of theirs, and this person promised another $100k in fall to keep us floating.The founders have had meetings including second and thirds meetings with a dozen or so VC