WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Product Development/ Patent Fees

RNtoNPRNtoNP subscriber Posts: 1
edited September 2006 in Protecting Your Ideas
I am a new member to this site.   I happened to be in my car much later than expected yesterday and heard the last 15 or 20 seconds of the on-air show.  I heard the hosts mention "start-up nation" and discovered this site after returning home.   (What would we do without the internet and Google?)  Anyways, I have browsed around this site and love what I have seen thus far.   I am a 38 year old Nurse Practitioner who has been "plagued" by always thinking of new product concepts/ideas/ etc...  I have never pursued any of them.   I have seen several ultimately appear on television as products for sale.   I currently have several ideas for new products.   Briefly, two are related to gardening/lawn care products, one is a specific "tool" for template making, and one deals with a conceptual design change for roofing methods (potentially applicable to EVERY new home construction).   My question is regarding costs for patent application process?   Also, I have contacted several manufacturers in the last 2 days via email, as well as the BobVila.com site, to determine potential interest in new product development.   I am not sure what route to take.  I am tired of seeing my ideas appear in the market place years after I "thought" of them.   Any helpful advice would be appreciated.   Perhaps I can barter and exchange health care advice for product development advice .  Ha Ha
Andy B.

Comments

• RichRich administrator Posts: 582 Site Admin
    andy,
    thanks for joining our fast-growing community.
    are you very confident that the people at bob vila would be ideal for the product?