WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Need Help on Opening a Toy Store

startingbusinessstartingbusiness subscriber Posts: 2
edited February 2008 in Selecting a Business
Hi,

I have lots of experience in making different soft toys and I also work for a toy store. Now I am ready to start one of my own toy store but I don’t know where and how to start this. I am from Indiana, if anyone here has similar experience then please guide me to start this business.

Thanks
JP

Comments

• startupbizhubstartupbizhub subscriber Posts: 1 Member
    Now that you have decided to start a toy store but how will you make it a success.

I believe you will start one from scratch.
    Who all will be your customers.(Age group)
    What kind of products needed for that age group?
    Where are you going to setup your store?
    What price range you are looking for?
    Do you have budget for promoting your store?
    What is your strategy to handle staff and customer theft?
    What is your overall budget and how are you going to arrange it?

On answering all these questions will help you generating a business plan for starting your toy store.
  • nolimits2wealthnolimits2wealth subscriber Posts: 1
    Try ebay for starters and this could help with starting your branding also.
    Try out your local flea markets too.
    Yes that`s a point the only one we have near me is toys` r` us, sad isn`t it.
    Well you would have to ask yourself,how would you compete with the big name brand of toys r us with out having a couple of million to start up, unless your going to stock the big name brands that they do, you are not in the game.
    You will just be left with with all the cheap chinese rubbish, that gets sold on ebay.
  • ayjayayjay subscriber Posts: 7