WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Am I going in the right direction??

steeltowndubbersteeltowndubber subscriber Posts: 1
edited February 2007 in Website Critique
Hello,
Fist off, thank you for taking the time to read my post.  I just joined SUN yesterday and have been addicted to this site.  There are a lot of useful tips provided by everyone.
So on to my website.  I`m planning on opening up a site that sells aquarium products to salt water aquarium hobbiests.  I myself have been in this hobby for close to 20 years and have worked in the business for 10 years as an employee of a pet shop managing the fish room.  The site is very early in its development and it uses www.shopify.com</A> for it`s template.  I`ve never designed a website before so this is my first time.  I would like to know if I am heading in the right direction or if i`m totally off base.  Being that the site is still very early in its development, with your feedback, I`ll be able to get it focused on where it needs to be sooner than later.
Here is the site I`m building www.thesaltedreef.com</A>.
There really isn`t any content of value at the moment and I`m far away from opening up shop. 
Thanks again for looking.
Rich

Comments

• vwebworldvwebworld subscriber Posts: 40
    Hi Rich,
    Using a proprietary program like shopfly has some pros and cons. The start up may be shorter but in the long run, there are limitations to the site and especially if you want or need to move the site at some point.
    The cost of shopfly  - a % of your sales - is, I think expensive... compared to the cost of hosting a site. But that is a business decision.
    At this point it`s hard to review your site because of its` preliminary status.