WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Need some Ideas

Mac18Mac18 subscriber Posts: 1
Hi, I just joined this site and I`ve been reading alot of the posts. I live in louisiana and I work for a small auto repair company. I`ve done this for almost ten years now and I`m tired of working for someone else. I have experience managing a retail store also and I am an certified mechanic. Me and a friend of mine want to start our own automobile service center. The Idea that we have is to not only take care of normal cars and trucks doing oil changes, tires, and preventive maintenance, but also 18-wheeler Tires, oil and light repair. There is a serious lack of heavy truck shops in the area where I live and our goal is to address this and hopefully bring in the local trucking companies as our customers.
We have the mechanical experience to make it work and both of us know well trained people that would work for us. Any Ideas on how to get start up funding would be great. We have located a good property that is right off the interstate and has a high traffic volume. It is easily accesible for both domestic vehicles and big trucks. Also I have been trying to find measurements on the Ideal size of land that we would need. The property that we found is huge (12acres) and the owner is willing to sell part of it instead of the whole thing.
The shop we want to build will consist of 2 oil changing lines for domestic vehicles which would hold 4 cars/trucks at a time also 4 mechanic/tire bays and 2 lanes for 18wheelers.
If anyone is currently running a diesel shop or a lube center and can give me an idea on a lot size please reply. Any other Ideas would be appreciated.

Comments

• marlamarla subscriber Posts: 0