WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Determining whether I am qualified enough to start a business

Mountain08Mountain08 subscriber Posts: 1
edited August 2008 in Selecting a Business
Hello Everyone!  I`m new to SUN but I`ve been viewing for some time now.  I really love this website.
I have a question regarding the amount of qualification/experience to start a business.  I have been struggling with the idea of starting this business for a year and a half now.  This business would consist of designing the plot plan for residential septic systems.  I`m currently an Design Engineer so I have plenty of experience with CAD software.  My issue is that I do not have enough experience with the installation of septic systems.  I have met with the local health department guy and he said that for now he is telling the designer how and where the septic system will go and the calculations for the installation.  I`m worried that installers (the ones that will hire me) will think that I have no clue as to what I`m doing and I will never get another job.  Is it normal to go into a business where you are suppose to be an expert and not know everything (know the basics) about what you`re doing???  Please let me know if I`ve completely confused you.  Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Mountain08Mountain08 subscriber Posts: 1