WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Have you seen my customers anywhere?

knowableknowable subscriber Posts: 6
edited June 2008 in Marketing
I`m sure they`re around here somewhere, if only I knew where to look. I wish finding them was as easy as finding my keys (hmmm, come to think of it, that can be tough sometimes, too).
I`m in the process of launching an information technology consulting business geared specifically to small brick-n-mortar businesses operating locally. All I have to go on is my 11 years of consulting experience, a gut feeling that I can provide a valuable service, and a desire to make it on my own in this business.
As I read more, I learn that selling is less about having a great product or service and more about determining whether my target market wants what I have to offer, and then satisfying that want.
I know computer technology. I know nothing but what I`ve read lately about marketing and sales.
My question: How do I learn whether or not my target demographic 1) wants the service I have to offer, and 2) would be willing to a pay a premium to have it?

Comments

• Options
    vwebworldvwebworld subscriber Posts: 40
    My question: How do I learn whether or not my target demographic 1) wants the service I have to offer, and 2) would be willing to a pay a premium to have it?

One way is simply to ask (your target market). Conduct a survey and make sure to offer something for their time and information.

~Roland
  • Options
    LisaOLisaO subscriber Posts: 2