WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Can I please get help?

PinkSassiPinkSassi subscriber Posts: 2
edited February 2008 in Website Critique
I`m in college and this is my first attempt at entrepenuership.  I started a site called Pink-Sassi.com (some may find the site sexist so please don`t click on the link if say a bikini contest would be offensive to you) where I want to have users submit photo sets for a chance to win money and in the future havea  lottery for people who vote so that they can also win money.  I know the site is lacking in design, but I just started it up.  So I am also looking for ideas for web design?
I am hoping that the money and content will almost drive traffic by itself.  Is this a reasonable assumption?  I am expecting to come out of pocket in the beginning in hopes that I will recieve enough traffic to sell adspace.  Is this how sites make money or is there other ways to make money with the site?

And lastly, is this something that could be profitable?

Comments

• WeblineWebline subscriber Posts: 13 Bronze Level Member
    Personally I think you`re raising a lot of questions that you need to clarify to potential submitters.Submitting pictures to a MySpace or separate email account sounds suspicious; why can`t they just submit them to the site? Accepted photos are posted; what about non-accepted photos? How do they know their submitted pictures won`t be posted elsewhere on the internet? Or sold for a profit somewhere else by your site? 15-20 sounds like quite a few; why so many?Site visitors get to vote, not registered users with one vote? What do you do about multiple votes by the same person? How do you verify the vote count?And maybe most importantly ..... how do you verify someones age?