WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Small Franchise Funding

ronkimmonsronkimmons subscriber Posts: 1
edited January 2014 in Startup Funding
Hi all. I am an MBA student - set to graduate in August - and I have been talking to a business roundtable franchisor called CEO Focus. I like this business model a lot, and I feel that I would be very good as a CEO Focus franchisee/facilitator. Some of the things I like about the business model are:

Overhead is minimal. There is no need for inventory, employees, or office space.
Income is steady. Clients continue to pay on a monthly basis, and client turnover tends to be low.
This type of business is not very susceptible to market fluctuations.
Net earnings, before tax, can quickly reach $300,000 per year. (But that's where earnings plateau.)

However, as you may expect, it does cost money. The franchise fee is $25,000, and I estimate another $35,000 on top of that to cover initial marketing expenses and some miscellaneous expenses. But here's the problem: being a full-time student, I'm already saddled with a lot of debt, and I can't show a lender any steady income. So a bank loan is out of the question. As for equity investment, the income plateau and lack of scalability makes that less than ideal. So...what should I do? Are there any other funding options out there that I am missing?

Comments

• Options
    ronkimmonsronkimmons subscriber Posts: 1
    I appreciate the responses.