WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Business Fundamentals

2»

Comments

• MattThomasMattThomas subscriber Posts: 2
    Nice, I`m loving this list so far. Let me throw in another subject that was uncovered in business school: mergers and acquisitions. I`m not positive as to how this can be converted into a fundamental, but I have found that this topic (and I majored in both management AND finance) was inadequately covered.
    Some broad topics were covered such as stock swaps, but NOTHING about small business M&As, and NOTHING about cultural adjustments when blending two different work forces together (from a managerial perspective).
    I suppose there are certain financial and cultural undertones as it pertains to fundamentals, I`m just not sure exactly what they would be.
    Interesting points. And I agree that M&A itself doesn`t seem to be a fundamental. But I think we are hitting on some undertones that are getting closer to the fundamentals--equity and integration.
    Lets start with equity. Equity HAS value, but equity is, like Craig said, ownership. Percent of ownership can be used for funding, negotiation, even trading. I`m not positive how far we can take this idea, so I`ll leave that up for future discussion.
    But with integration, I think the real fundamental integration suggests is: CHANGE. Integrating different workplace cultures, individual staff members, new goals or strategy, really anything NEW that is presented into any business needs to be integrated in some way, and this represents a change. MattThomas3/10/2009 5:02 PM