WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

feeling stuck

kristieleighkristieleigh subscriber Posts: 1
edited February 2008 in Selecting a Business
I hope someone here can give me some help.  I`ve been thinking about owning my own business for awhile now, but I never get anywhere with what kind of business.
My day job is in IT, but I think I want out.  I enjoy reading, sewing, and exercising.  I have no idea what kind of business I could create with reading.  My sewing skills are in the very beginner level, and I don`t really have a "personal trainer" personality.  I`ve considered a no frills (no spa, sauna, pool, etc) lower cost gym, but don`t have the $$ for that or assets to get financing.
As for strengths, I`ve got a really strong work ethic, quick learner, good communication, and above average customer service skills (sounds like a cover letter LOL).  I can do so, but really don`t enjoy getting up and speaking in front of a group of people.  I loved retail/customer service, but didn`t enjoy managing "corporate" stores with their sales quotas and rules.  I have also been told I am an excellent manager, and am always getting promoted, whatever job I have.
To answer the million dollar question, if it didn`t matter if it failed or not, I`d either open up some type of retail establishment or gym.  I don`t think I have the stomach for the amount of risk a retail establishment would require, as I don`t think our economy is going up right now.  And I can`t afford to open a gym.
Am I missing something here?  Am I making excuses?  I think I`ve become so bogged down that I`m blind.  Please help!