WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Affording that first employee

dentallabdentallab subscriber Posts: 2
edited November 2006 in Business Planning
Hello...I am new to SuN and have been reading through the 10 steps to grow your business.  My husband I run our own business.  He does all the production and I handle AP/AR, Taxes, etc.  I only work part time since I am also a Mom!   We can see a need from our existing customers but we are stuck at how to afford to add another person.  Our cash flow is not large enough to support the big cash outlay for equipment needed for another employee as well as workers comp, salary and benefits.  We have been trying to do everything debt free and carry only a small amount of credit card debt. 
I am revamping out Business Plan and am looking for advice on planning and affording an employee.  Short of getting a large loan any other ideas?
Thanks for any help you can give me.  CJ

Comments

• keyconkeycon subscriber Posts: 34
    CJ - many companies face these same problems every day - you are not alone. I admire you for wanting to stay debt free - good idea both from a business as well as a personal standpoint - IMHO. Sometimes though, you got to spend a little money before you make some money. A couple of questions.
    It sounds from your post that business is good. How much more business is in the pipeline? Enough for another full-time person or maybe a part-time person?