WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Shared partnership?

mach777mach777 subscriber Posts: 1
edited May 2006 in Business Planning
Hello,
I am a system developer/designer who just got contacted by a friend who has an idea for an internet based startup company. His idea is really great, and it would be so cool to see it done.
I would be creating the site, which I calculate would take about 300-400 hours of work initially, and perhaps a few days a week to maintain, to begin with. He would do the other work, such as advertising, logistics, and so on. I`m pondering what is reasonable to ask for. I`m mainly interested in a 50% partnership, since from my point of view, I would be doing most of the work initially, and thus (in my point of view) taking most of the risk. He is not interested in shared ownership.
He does not have the capital to pay wages or pay me a set sum, so we have to solve compensation in some other way. There is, of course, a high risk this business doesn`t take off and the hours we put in will be "lost", so what is really reasonable for me to ask for? Based on what I charge as a professional in my normal daytime job,  I`d be putting in ~$40k or more to get the idea up and running.
How are these things usually solved? :]
Andreas

Comments

• theswaynestertheswaynester subscriber Posts: 15 Bronze Level Member
    Would he be willing to accept a portion of the equity, or is he against any form of partnership?In my opinion, you are incurring all the risk and none of reward. If I didn`t get some form of earning potential, I`d probably pass.But that`s me.
    Matt
  • keyconkeycon subscriber Posts: 34
    Andreas,