WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Marrying Franchisees With Investors

kcavellakcavella subscriber Posts: 1
edited June 2006 in Elevator Pitches

Hello, I am a finance manager for Dunkin` Brands (www.dunkinbrands.com). I am looking for investors who want to fund existing franchisees as they expand into new markets. I have very experienced franchisees who are excellent operators and our franchising teams want them to expand into new markets such as Nashville or Atlanta. Problem is, they don`t have the financial connections to obtain funding and traditional commercial lenders are reluctant to go into new markets. So, I am trying to marry these existing franchisees with investors to foster expansion.
Does anyone know of any investors who might be interested in this opportunity?
Thank you.

Comments

• RichRich administrator Posts: 582 Site Admin
    can you share some thoughts as to the ideal profile of investors for franchise expansion?
    for example, is there any pattern or historical info you have about the kinds of people who`ve invested in the past? armed with that information, we may be able to draw some people into the dialogue.
    thanks for posting at StartupNation.com!
    rich
  • kcavellakcavella subscriber Posts: 1
    Rich,
    The more financially sophisticated franchisees have found investors who inject liquidity in return for, say, a 30% cut of the corporation.
    I`m picturing a mezzanine investor. The banks typically are conservative in these new markets and lend 70%, the existing franchisee usually has 10%...if I could find a mezz investor who wants to put in 20% it would allow some of these experienced operators to expand.
    Thanks, Keith
  • RichRich administrator Posts: 582 Site Admin
    keith,