WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

How to better market my Graphic Design business

CalieCalie subscriber Posts: 2
edited July 2008 in Marketing
Hi Everyone,
I am a Graphic Designer in San Francisco.  I`ve been in the business for over 8 years and on my own for almost a year. I`ve been profitable, but am looking for ways to better market my services. I do a bit of freelancing at ad agencies and take on private clients. Ultimately, I`d like to stop freelancing and do only private clients. I`d love to meet VC`s starting new businesses or work with existing companies in the city as there go to person for design services.  I`d appreciate any ideas, especially from designers who have been in the business on their own for a long time.
Thank You,
Calie

Comments

• CalieCalie subscriber Posts: 2
    Hi Craig,

Thanks for your feedback...interesting ideas. I`ll have to read the "emyth", been hearing about it a lot lately.

As far as my business, I`d like to stay solo for now. I don`t want to expand into a marketing business. I love graphic design and aside from small business tasks prefer to spend the majority of my days designing.

I have found a good balance of meeting with a client, getting briefed on the project, and then going back to my studio to work on it.