WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Different Businesses under an LLC

SplashAtlSplashAtl subscriber Posts: 1
edited February 2008 in Selecting a Business
Hello.  I am new to Startupnation.  I have an LLC.  I would like to start several different small businesses.  Can I have other businesses (with different names) under my LLC?  Example:  XYZ, LLC.  Can an online retail store called Jane Doe`s Closet be a business under XYZ, LLC?  Do I have to file any paperwork for the Jane Doe business?  I hope this makes sense.  Thanks!

Comments

• successogroupllcsuccessogroupllc subscriber Posts: 0
    In most states (LLC laws vary state by state) it is totally OK (and common) to have an LLC as an umbrella organization that owns other LLC`s.  The only caution that I would give you is that the LLC`s under the umbrella would then be considered to be "assets" of the umbrella LLC.  In legal terms, this means that if someone ever sued one of your LLC`s, the assets of all of the LLC`s under the same umbrella could be in jeopardy. 
    Paperwork requirements for this also vary state by state as well.  You might want to consult with a business law attorney to find out what you need to do in your state.
    Hopefully that helps....
  • minimegeologyminimegeology subscriber Posts: 26

I have a similar situation with my business.  Check with an attorney and make sure that your products are labelled properly so that everything falls under you insurance properly, etc.  I had to add wording to many of my product labels to make sure that we were properly covered.

• rookierookie subscriber Posts: 3
    I am also planning on doing LLC to include all business activities.  I would like to have one LLC for the following: