WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Start-up Funding

CyberTiger67CyberTiger67 subscriber Posts: 1
edited February 2008 in Startup Funding

I have a challenge of starting an IT Consulting firm. Unlike a traditional business such as a retail store or something my company would not have any assets. The assets are the people which are the most important product for a successful consulting firm.

My biggest challenge is I have 20 years of IT experience of which I am currently the CIO for an organization. I was just selected by SmartCEO magazine as one of the Top CIO`s in my city. I have worked in several consulting firms and my current organization was a startup that I initiated with the CEO of our "sister" organization. We started it 18 months ago and now have 15 employees and generated 1.8 million last year. Problem is it is not a long term solution for me as it is a non-profit. I put in the hours and work but there is no long term financial or business reward.

So I want to start my own IT Consulting firm, I have already reached out to several CIO`s and CEO`s I know. Most all are supportive and a few have already committed work. But its like the chicken and egg scenario. I don`t have the time to do the work "part time" as my current job requires my attention 50-60 hours a week.

Now the challenge how do I secure the money needed to get things going? I currently make $160K and my wife does not work. I know I can get the work as I have the business relationships I can deliver the work. I have started the business plan, but how to I find funding as what the "investor" is investing in is me.