WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Dating website idea,what is next?

JessicaBrownJessicaBrown subscriber Posts: 1
Hi, i have a new kind of dating website idea. So i made a mockup website, registered my trademark but now i am lost on what steps to take, maybe someone could help.
A website seems to be a risky invention since they can be easily copied so it seems that traditional invention process cannot apply to me.
1. I could go try to sell my idea to some dating services but they can easily just steal it from me as i think i cannot patent a website.
2.I could create the real website and put it online but that would cost me a lot of time and effort and since i am not a current expert in that field, another website already popular could easily copy my idea.
Well so that is where i am, could you help me out please? what would you do? Websites can generate millions think about facebook,dating.com,myspace etc...
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    RiujinZeroRiujinZero subscriber Posts: 2
    They can`t copy an idea if you have a copyright on it.  I`m not an expert but everything on your website is considered intellectual property I think.  No one can copy your idea as long as you get the right patents and trademarks put in place.
  • Options
    WeblineWebline subscriber Posts: 13 Bronze Level Member
    "A website seems to be a risky invention since they can be easily copied"
    A site can be copied ( i.e. layout, colors, images, etc. ), but if your idea involves unique scripting then it would take an experienced programmer to try to figure out how to duplicate that function.
    "I could create the real website and put it online but that would cost me a lot of time and effort"