WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Pay-Per-Click for Dumm...Start -Ups

googleguygoogleguy subscriber Posts: 47 Bronze Level Member
Many people by now have heard of it, thought about it, maybe even tried it and still dont completely understand it. I have been doing it for over 5 years and still scratch my head sometimes. As an "expert" I probably should not admit to that, but its true. My goal in this post is to try to very simply expain how Pay-Per-Click works, what it does, how to make the most of it and hopefully a few tips to avoid frustration.

First, the concept of Pay-Per-Click is simple,  search engines like Google, Yahoo, MSN etc.. will allow you to place small ads (sponsored links) next to their "natural" or "organic" search results for search queries initiated by users. Your ad will be linked to your website, so if you happen to sell soap and someone goes to Google ( I will use Google as an example) and types in "soap"(keyword) in the search bar...presto! Your ad will appear on the page along with the websites that Google has determined are the most relevant for the search term. Your ad will appear on the top of the page or along the right hand side. You will pay Google for anyone who actaully "clicks" on your sponsored link and is sent to your website.So how does Google determine how much you will pay for each visitor?