WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Joomla????

cadetstevecadetsteve subscriber Posts: 3
edited October 2009 in Building A Website That Works
I know that the web designers in this forum may hate this question...But... Anyone experience or heard of Joomla or VirtueMart?

Steve

Steve@allhoppedup.net

All Hopped Up Home Brew

Comments

• NuevolutionNuevolution subscriber Posts: 30 Bronze Level Member
    Yes I am a Joomla developer. and VA Tony, yes it`s a CMS system. Many on the forum get bloggers and CMS systems mixed up. Virtuemart is and awesome feature... but Jcafe is much easier to use... By the way, Why do you ask
  • cadetstevecadetsteve subscriber Posts: 3
    I am looking starting a website. What are the pros and cons of Joomla. What guarantees are there that it will be around fora long time?
    SteveSteve@allhoppedup.net All Hopped Up Home Brew

• vwebworldvwebworld subscriber Posts: 40
    I think Joomla will be around for a while. The pros - it`s a CMS so you can make changes to your site without having to know HTML or php, etc (although it helps).

The cons - it`s a CMS, so you have to learn how to use it and there maybe some limitations as to design and features depending upon what you want.

A CMS is good if you plan or expect to make changes / additions to you site on a regular basis.
    If the changes etc you expect to make are only on the ecommerce side then you might consider an ecommerce program (open source or not).

~Roland
  • art8art8 subscriber Posts: 6