WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Organic food startup

AlamuAlamu subscriber Posts: 1
edited May 2009 in Selecting a Business
 I have a degree in Economics and Finance, and am almost done with my masters in Economics as well. But I want to go into the organic food business. I went to SCORE today to seek advice from counselors but they said I need some experience in the industry to be able to start the business and they suggest I get a job at an organic food retail store.
My question is do I really need to have the experience to start the business?. I was hoping doing an extensive research would do but the counselor won`t suggest any alternative. What alternatives are out there to gain knowledge of the organic food industry?

Comments

• BizOptimizerBizOptimizer subscriber Posts: 1
    Would you want the pilot of your airplane to have jumped in without experience - you are the pilot of the funds that will be needed to start it.  To invest even your own money into a venture you knew nothing about would be fool hearty.  Could you pull it off?  Yea, you would have a 1:1000 shot or so. 

You are talking about an industry with its own rules - and if you don`t know them you will lose and lose fast.  Do you know how they do shelf space?  Do you know how to organize a store and  why?  Do you know all the sources of income?  Do you know the "typical deals" - "good deals"?

You need some mid-level management experience at the least. 

IMHO
  • RanksIntlRanksIntl subscriber Posts: 0
    Hello,