WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Want to quit job to start a similar company... advice?

a2theba2theb subscriber Posts: 2
edited November 2006 in Selecting a Business
Hello everyone!  Newbie here and thoroughly inspired by this site! I work for a small computer consulting company of about 12 employees. The company is very successful however within the past 4 or 5 months changes have been made that I don`t particularly agree with. Our manager/supervisor left to pursue a new career who had the operation running at tip top shape. Since then, the president/owner has taken over the role. He tends to think more about the business in numbers than the company`s actual vision. This has brought changes that brings employee morale down, more stress, etc, etc. It`s a lot of talk but not a lot of action. I`m all for his vision of growing the company but not the way he is doing it. I`ve been thinking about starting my own consulting company for a while now. By myself first and then eventually hiring more techs. Some of the techs I oversee now are already asking me to bring them on! I know I should seek out legal advise, but I wanted to see what fellow entrepreneurs had to say or if anyone else has been in a similar position. I really believe I can be successful at this but am weary of quitting the company on bad terms due to the competitiveness of our industry. Couple of things I have researched on my signing paperwork with the company:- Signed a proprietary information and inventions agreement- Offer letter states that I cannot engage in any activities competitive to the company (I`m only planning my company so I`m assuming this does not apply)-  Employment is at willI guess what it comes down to is that I`m afraid of my boss suing me (because he can be a baby li