WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Does this sound normal to many of you?

broncobronco subscriber Posts: 2
edited October 2006 in Business Planning
Well, where to start?  I`m a newbie here, though I`ve been listening to the Startupnation podcasts for quite a while, and I`ve also read the Startupnation book along with other such books as well.  But anyway, I`m still in the daydreaming phase of starting my own business (I`m not quite sure which direction to go in yet), but without question I want to figure out exactly what I want to do and get it off the ground soon.  I`ve saved quite a bit of money for the venture (about 30k, which doesn`t include 150k in home equity and other savings), I have no debts, and my overall credit is outstanding.  Also, I`m relatively young (late 20`s) with no children and a fiance who shares my passion/vision as well. 
My main problem at this point is not only figuring out exactly what I want to do (I have many interests/ideas at this point), but especially overcoming the fear I have of cutting all ties and going out on my own.  I currently make a very good income at my current job, which I enjoy overall---but I`m simply not passionate about it, mainly due to the fact that I`ve always wanted to own my own business and work for myself.  Overall, I have days where my confidence is high (I feel as if I`m about to achieve a breakthrough), while other days my confidence is quite low (I feel like starting a business and getting it off the ground is a pipe dream, and will never happen.)