WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Online Business Idea

aiflinaiflin subscriber Posts: 6
edited October 2008 in Selecting a Business
Hello Budding Entreprenurs,
                      I am very desperate to start a website based business. My background is in Information technology. I have around 4 years of experience in Java/J2EE web development and I have interest in finance and movies. I have heard about lot of people making money through online advertising. I am really looking forward to try my luck too. Can anyone please suggest me some ideas for my website ?
Thanks,

Comments

• Options
    Thanks Craig. I really like the idea. But, my enthu went down, when I saw a website doing similar things. it`s called boxofficereport.com. Can you suggest something, which is better than what this website is doing or some other better idea.. ?
    Many Thanks
  • Options
    kamolahykamolahy subscriber Posts: 27
    Think about this..
    If you start an online advertising company and your idea is that good, there are plenty of juggernaut companies who have a good chance of wiping you out or redoing your idea faster and with more money. It can be daunting. I`d be careful.
    On the other hand I have to agree with Craig. Try your hand at something unique and niche. Implement your own way of advertising into that and all of a sudden it`s your unique business that`s fueling a number of things.
    I`ve heard time and time again from investors that they turn away companies with a revenue model based on advertising. Build into your company a few ways of making money, so when one of them doesn`t pan out, the others may.
    Good luck and message me if you ever have questions. I have a good bit of experience!
    Collin
  • Options