WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Minority/Veteran/Woman...need advice!

ChefTracyChefTracy subscriber Posts: 1
edited April 2007 in Startup Funding
Ok...
I am a veteran of the US Army, African-American and a woman.  I find it extremely heartbreaking when I`m turned down for a 25K- 50K loan for a small size Southern Cooking buffet here in Atlanta.  Although, I can understand, my credit scores are crap!  I find myself saying "If I knew back then, what I know now, I would have never....."  Currently, I make really good money, am paying my bills on time and am the best chef in the area (I cater weddings, business meetings, etc. with lots of referrals) and I can`t seem to find any funding for a location that is perfect for me, and will bring in plenty of people for my down home cooking!  I tried Prosper, didn`t get funded.  I tried SBA, credit scores weren`t good enough.  I figured since I have learned my lesson about credit, a minority veteran woman, someone would take pity on me and give me a break.  Anyone know of ANY agencies that help people like me succeed?  I`m also in self credit repair, I want my credit report looking good!  Plus, I have the best menu in town!

Comments

• ChefTracyChefTracy subscriber Posts: 1
    Hi John,
    Thanks for the good advice!!  I don`t have the listing for Prosper.  When I tried to get funding, it was for something different.  But I will be creating a listing this weekend!!  My intentions are to pay off the collections next month, there are currently 4 of them that are easy to pay.  I am continuing with my current position...I have been with them for 8 years, so I`m very stable, thank goodness.  To host dinners for investors, where do I find them??