WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Web Design - Pricing Help

bransonboybransonboy subscriber Posts: 5
edited June 2008 in Sales
Hey!

I have been running a web design business for about 2 years now, but it was only as a hobby and getting paid for it. But I have turned it into a business now. How would you recommend I price websites I do etc? Also what price would you reckon I should do sites for? Don`t want to rip people off, but at the same time, I don`t want to rip myself off.

Any help would be great thanks.

Comments

• rfreshrfresh subscriber Posts: 0
    Charge by the hour. Most clients have no idea what they want their website to end up looking like. They are too busy running their businesses to really sit down and take the time to story board what each web page should look like. If you charge a one time fee they will Dollar you to death with endless changes. Charge a reasonable hourly rate and they will only ask you to do what has to be done and then stop.
  • sddreamweaverssddreamweavers subscriber Posts: 5 Member

Hey! I have been running a web design business for about 2 years now, but it was only as a hobby and getting paid for it. But I have turned it into a business now. How would you recommend I price websites I do etc? Also what price would you reckon I should do sites for? Don`t want to rip people off, but at the same time, I don`t want to rip myself off. Any help would be great thanks.  

The biggest investment you can make is your own website.  You need something that is going to absolutely floor your potential customers and give them the reason to use you.
    I agree with Ralph.  Charge by the hour.  sddreamweavers6/8/2008 12:39 AM
  • diamondvdiamondv subscriber Posts: 0