WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

I need easy steps to sell a food product

I am new to startup nation and there is so much great information on this site.  I love that everyone has a common passion of innovation and goal of autonomy. I have a unique product for the salsa industry.  Does anyone have any experience with marketing a food product and could give me a cliff not version of where to start?   If I tried to sell it to a small grocery store to generate interest, does it have to be approved by the FDA?  Do you have to have the nutritional information on the jar?
Thank you for listening! I am frustrated because I have no clue where to start and I am doing this alone.  I work much better feeding off individuals!  No pun intended with my product!

maryglenn2007-5-1 22:59:31

Comments

• stevesteve subscriber Posts: 14
    Your product must be manufactured in a licensed and inspected facility.
    Some states allow food manufacturing in private homes subject to
    regulation and inspection. Another option is to have a copacker
    manufacture it to your specs bottle it and ship to you or your
    distributor. If you want to make it yourself an alternative to having
    your own facility is to find a restaurant that will allow you to use
    their kitchen after hours. Other options are VFW halls, churches, KofC,
    anyone with an inspected kitchen who will rent space / time to you when
    they aren`t using it.

You do not have to have nutritional information on the package until
    you reach a certain annual sales threshold (I believe it is $100,000).
    The exception to that is if you are making a specific nutritional
    claim. 
  • maryglennmaryglenn subscriber Posts: 1
    Thank you so much Steve!
    You`re welcome.