WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

I run a website and I am afraid of being sued!

kofoidkofoid subscriber Posts: 1
edited January 2008 in Business Planning
Hi there, I am a newbie here so if I posted in the wrong area, I apologize in advance!
I run a parenting and pregnancy website and some recent events came up where I am afraid I could be sued if someone miscarries due to stress cased by the message board.  I know it sounds almost ridiculous, but I am quite certain in this day and age someone would try it.
The site makes a minimal profit each year: 200.00 max.  There are usually a few hundred dollars in donations that help the site run as well. 
Could I form a non-profit?  I really don`t expect to make any money off the site, and typically the money that is made goes right back into the site.  If I did form a NP, would my personal assets be protected?

Comments

• robertjrobertj subscriber Posts: 0 Member
    I would put the site ownership into some type of separate entity. Since you say you don`t expect nor want to make a profit from this - it sounds like a not for profit structure would work.

That said, I strongly suggest consulting with an attorney to be sure you understand how to protect yourself and your personal assets.
  • kofoidkofoid subscriber Posts: 1
  • LiveWiseLiveWise subscriber Posts: 5
    It`s sad that this day and age a person needs to think about sued over message boards, but there are people that spill coffee in their own laps and win a lawsuit.  The legal system is not always fair nor is it logical at times.