WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Approaching Independent Retailers

ModJulieModJulie subscriber Posts: 1
edited January 2007 in Sales
I am an independent custom furniture designer/manufacturer.  I just started my business a few months ago.  Due to some fortunate local press, I currently have my pieces in a local retail outlet and a handful of interior designers.  The article came a little quicker than expected, but I`m not complaining!
I am trying to devise the best plan to approach independent furniture stores and interior designers. 
I have a little time to devise a plan, as my website is under construction, and I believe this must be functional before any major marketing occurs.  What do you suggest?  Is my first action to email a targeted group with a few pictures and a link to my website?  Do I call them?  Do I complete a mailer with follow-up phone calls?  Attend a trade show? How do I determine the decision-makers at these firms?  Some are large, some very small, etc... 
I`ve read varied ways to make positive connections with retailers, but I`d really like to hear from the SUN community to see what has worked best for you.
Thanks,
Julie

Comments

• CookieCookie subscriber Posts: 2
    This is a topic near & dear to my heart, Julie, as I market a gardening tool I invented.  Trade shows can be good for reaching your target audience & you wouldn`t have the problem I`d have of everyone wanting a sample.  However, it`s a big expenditure of time & money & only you know what your budget is.  You`ll have the expense of booth rental, booth display, hotel....