WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

Gathering useful consumer data

TimTimTimmaTimTimTimma subscriber Posts: 3
edited July 2009 in Grab Bag
I am starting up a drop shipping e-tail business. I plan on selling various consumer electronics. I am debating whether or not to gather consumer data and if it would be worth doing before I get my business going. This is my first attempt at an online business/e-tail store and I was wondering if it would be worth it to gather as much information about my potential consumers before I started, or get the word out about my business and gather information about potential consumers as they come to visit my site and sign up after it`s up and running. I am also faced with the challenge of how to gather consumer data before I get my business website up and running. Any suggestions appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Comments

• TimTimTimmaTimTimTimma subscriber Posts: 3

Who is your customer?

This, is what I am trying to determine, for the most part it is more than likely going to be someone who more than likely is going to be between the ages of 18-24 and 25-34. I do not believe I will attempt to attract anyone in the older categories, mainly because I believe there is a trust barrier that needs to be broken down in regards to providing Credit Card, Address and other information to an online retailer when you can go to a brick an mortar store and not have to worry about someone intercepting your information and stealing your identitiy, the younger generations do not worry about this so much.

What benefits will your customer realize by coming to your site and not the other guy’s?