WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co

DotCom Taxation for LLCs

bbqchickenrobotbbqchickenrobot subscriber Posts: 2
edited September 2007 in Selecting a Business
Hi All, just wondering how the taxation for an LLC would work.  I am a California resident and my objective is to pay as little taxes as possible (legally) with a new dotcom business.   It will only be virtual, so I am thinking about starting a Nevada LLC instead of a California LLC as Nevada does NOT have state taxes.  From what I understand CA and NV LLCs both require you to pay federal income tax on whatever profits/losses acquired by the LLC on your personal federal income tax return (unless you choose to be taxed as a corporation at the higher corporate tax rate).  So, I was thinking because I am virtual, I can start up the dotcom, form LLC in NV and will NOT have to file as doing business in any other state. 
Although, my server(s) will be located in various places throughout the country, but that doesn`t have an affect on my taxation requirements right?  

Comments

• bbqchickenrobotbbqchickenrobot subscriber Posts: 2
    hmmm.... I think I might have posted this in the wrong place... lol
  • PiperTaxPiperTax subscriber Posts: 5
    Correct, if you locate your business in Nevada, you would not have to pay state sales taxes, as long as you don`t have a "physical presence" anywhere else. And no, where your hosting company is located does not create a physical presence in a state.Also, you`re correct that you`ll be paying Federal income tax for your LLC regardless of where it`s located.
  • InvestorFundingInvestorFunding subscriber Posts: 0