WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Website Pet Peeves - what annoys you most?

Comments

• Options
    VideographyVideography subscriber Posts: 401 Silver Level Member
    Brian - it`s sometimes necessary to make your page a graphic for two reasons.  You may not want your site examined by `bots and you may not want your text easily copied.  My site falls into that first category.  I am a videographer and some of my productions are of schoolchildren in singing or dancing performances, and I don`t want a web bot to be able to find them or their school on my site, but I want the parents to be able to order DVDs.  So, those parts of the site are graphic cut-outs.But I agree that the page designer should test the page with "over-40" eyes on a high-resolution (I.E. tiny print) screen.
  • Options
    digitalvision313digitalvision313 subscriber Posts: 3
    Videography,You also should think about a robots.txt file to exclude the pages, if you want another level of protection (they`re not foolproof, but they really help) - I deal with schools also and we have the same issue with video and photos.  The policy we have is that if there is a picture, no last name or initial, if there is a last name or initial, no picture; also, we`ll do a little photoshop to blur faces on smaller images.  Sometimes, like meetings that are public record, you have no choice but to allow it, but that doesn`t seem to be your issue.I love the name!  MannMade Digital Video - that`s an awesome play on words.  Sometime I`d love to hear what you think about using those Sony HDs in the field.
  • Options
    VideographyVideography subscriber Posts: 401 Silver Level Member