WE'VE MOVED!

We are proud to announce our NEW community destination. Engage with resident experts and fellow entrepreneurs, and learn everything you need to start your business. Check out the new home of StartupNation Community at startupnation.mn.co
Options

Need help on how to bill for shipping costs to retailers

acalacal subscriber Posts: 3
Can somebody explain to me the best way to go about billing retailers for shipping costs.  I sell a fairly light weight item (pillow), but it is somewhat large about 15"x9"X 4".  I am just getting started, and I am not sure how to deal with the issue of billing for the shipping costs to retailers. I have a minimum wholesale order of 8 pillows, so the box needs to be somewhat on the large size. With the numerous variables incountered (number of pillows, location of delivery), not sure how to best do this.  I am not looking to make money on the shipping, I just want to make sure I don`t end up holding the bag for the shipping costs.
Any suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    I get it, so you wouldn`t "invoice" them until after you have shipped, and you know the shipping charge? correct?  I guess the only down side to this is if they (retailer) wants to make the purchase right away by putting it on a credit card.  You wouldn`t know the shipping amount at that time.
  • Options
    JSIWCJSIWC subscriber Posts: 0
    and for sure - check ALL the shippers - in the pst DHL was the highest and I found this past week that they are far below UPS, Fedex and totally lower than USPS. Right now UPS rates are higher than everyone - guess it`s all those right turns they`re making.... 
  • Options
    bertbert subscriber Posts: 12